Sunday, July 31, 2016

Book Review: FATAL IDENTITY by Marie Force

Fatal Identity
by Marie Force
Series: Fatal #10

Every family has its secrets…  

As the first anniversary of her marriage to Vice President Nick Cappuano approaches, Lieutenant Sam Holland is dreaming of Bora Bora—sun, sand and a desperately needed break from the DC grind. But real life has a way of intervening, and Sam soon finds herself taking on one of the most perplexing cases of her career.  

Government worker Josh Hamilton begs Sam to investigate his shocking claim that his parents stole him from another family thirty years ago. More complicated still, his "father" is none other than the FBI director. When a member of Josh's family is brutally murdered, Sam begins to question how deep this cover-up goes. Is it possible the revered director was part of a baby-napping ring and that others involved are also targets? 

With a killer intent on deadly revenge and her team still reeling from a devastating loss, Sam's plate is full—and when Nick and their son, Scotty, take ill, is her dream of a tropical anniversary celebration in peril too?

This series does not get old.  Sam and Nick are back and celebrating their one year anniversary.  It’s hard to believe that so much has happened in this year and true to form there is another mystery at hand.  A young man approaches Samantha, who is suspended for an event that occurred at the end of the last book, because he recognizes himself in an adult rendering of a Missing Child’s picture.  He wants Sam to investigate.  The catch?  He is the son of the current FBI Director.  For the first time in awhile, this mystery threw me for a loop.  It kept me guessing and I could not have imagined the ending.  

This series is wonderful not only for the suspenseful stories but also the family that makes up Sam and Nick’s world.  It’s a family of team members, blood relatives, and yes, even some of the Secret Service agents.  Nick has to navigate around his role as VPOTUS, but he always prioritizes his role as husband and father first.  I may have said this before, but it is worth repeating, Sam and Nick have a model relationship.  Simple, but not easy.

For the fans of the series,  you will note that Marie Force throws an interesting tidbit or two that had me saying, "hmmm."  First, it seems as though Sam's unwavering support from Chief Fransworth may be coming to an end.  Sam is under scrutiny because she punched a fellow officer at the end of the previous book.  He deserved it, but nonetheless, he wants to press assault charges.  Chief Farnsworth, her godfather, let her know that he may no longer be able to protect Sam from the fallout from her unorthodox and often, rulebreaking methods of solving a crime.  This is one of the reasons I like Sam. She operates in the gray.  There are times she breaks the rules, but it is not without consequences.  

*Spoiler Alert*
Another interesting and disturbing issue is Avery's continuing obsession with Sam.  He loves Shelby, but he still can't help fixating on Sam when he is in the same room as she is.  He is confounded by his reaction.  Is the author forecasting a future risk or is this just closure for a loose end?  Nick and Avery do have a heart to heart, but I don't know if I fully trust that resolution.  I think it is a odd thing to bring up (again) and I guess only time will tell. 

If you a fan, this will be a truly satisfying addition to the series.  This book is just as romantic as the first, even more so because this love is tempered and enduring.  

Thursday, July 21, 2016

Review Blog Tour: TWIRLED BOND by Emma Hart


Twirled Bond
by Emma Hart
The Holly Wood Files #5

If I thought Holly Woods was crazy before, I was wrong. Devin is finally married. Nonna's on the wedding warpath. Drake might be getting ideas. His mom just dropped a bombshell, and Bek is caught between a hot as hell FBI agent and my super-sweet little brother. And I still don't have the shoe closet Drake promised me when he moved in six months ago. At least there's one positive: the old, abandoned Holly Woods Theater is about to reopen, and there's nothing like a theater opening to bring people together... And make crazy grandmothers forget proposal agendas. Until that theater comes with a dead body. A very, very, very dead body. Chaos is coming to town. Everything I've ever known about Holly Woods might just be about to change.      

Amazon US | Amazon UK | iBooks | B&N


They say that change is good, right? It's boring to eat the same foods over and over. It's staid to vacation at the same place every year. It's confining to wear the same clothes every day.  Change can be good for a series as well, just as long as the author retains that which makes the books so special.  I like the Holly Wood Files series for it's brash and sass. I like Noelle's fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants craziness.  In other books, I might find her behavior annoying, but the author balances her with Drake in such a way, that I find Noelle's actions are mostly endearing. Because of these things, this book is surprising. It lacks the antics that I find amusing.  I feel like I waited the whole book for something to happen. 
"Yet it all seems...dull." 
At at times, so did this book.  This story focuses more on Noelle being mindful of her risk-taking and more considerate of Drake's feelings about engaging in behavior that puts her life on the line. She acts more mature.  Normally, I applaud that kind of character growth, but I'm wondering if Ms. Hart dialed it back too far.  

I appreciate the increased focus on the relationship between the hero and heroine.  I love getting more of Drake.  We get to know him better, taking a deeper dive into his character.  Dealing with a family tragedy with his father, Drake confronts some of his own deep seated insecurities.  Noelle gets to step up and this time, be the emotional support for Drake.  It is a nice development.  

Most of Noelle's crazy family and friends make a brief appearance again, but I keenly feel their absence.  Nonna is Nonna and she is in rare form, but her brothers do not have much presence in this book and I wish their stories could be developed further.  The same can be said about her best friend, Bek, and the other employees in her detective agency.  

"If I have to be crazy, then, bella, I wanna be crazy with you." 

Though a nice read, it is missing that special spark that characterizes the earlier books.  Perhaps, we can get just a dash of more crazy in future books.  



Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | iBooks


Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | iBooks



By day, New York Times and USA Today bestselling New Adult author Emma Hart dons a cape and calls herself Super Mum to two beautiful little monsters. By night, she drops the cape, pours a glass of whatever she fancies - usually wine - and writes books.
Emma is working on Top Secret projects she will share with her followers and fans at every available opportunity. Naturally, all Top Secret projects involve a dashingly hot guy who likes to forget to wear a shirt, a sprinkling (or several) of hold-onto-your-panties hot scenes, and a whole lotta love.
She likes to be busy - unless busy involves doing the dishes, but that seems to be when all the ideas come to life.


Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Release Event: ULTIMATE COURAGE by Piper J. Drake

by Piper J. Drake
Series: True Heroes #2
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: July 26, 2016
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing- Forever
Print Length:  336 pages

Format: Digital and Mass Market Paperback

Hot military heroes, the women who love them, and the devoted dogs that always have their backs. ULTIMATE COURAGE is the second book in a high adrenaline contemporary suspense series from Piper J. Drake published by Forever Romance. Fans of D.D. Ayres K-9 Rescue series and Cindy Gerard’s One Eyed Jacks, will love this action packed romantic suspense series.

Retired Navy SEAL Alex Rojas is putting his life back together, one piece at a time. Being a single dad to his young daughter and working at Hope's Crossing Kennels to help rehab a former guard dog, he struggles every day to control his PTSD. But when Elisa Hall shows up, on the run and way too cautious, she unleashes his every protective instinct. 

Elisa's past never stays in her rearview mirror for long, and she refuses to put anyone else in danger. But with Alex guarding her so fiercely yet looking at her so tenderly, she's never felt safer . . . or more terrified that the secrets she keeps could put countless people in grave peril. The only way for both to fully escape their demons will take the ultimate act of courage: letting go and learning to trust each other.

Get More information at: Goodreads  | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

"Piper Drake does it right.  She balances the suspenseful story with the relationship between her two lead characters and Souze, the German Shepherd dog in training." 
For the complete review, visit Scandalicious Book Reviews  

Alex’s hand came up slowly to cradle the side of her face, encouraging her to tilt her head, and she did. He deepened the kiss then, his tongue running across her lips and coaxing them to open for him. She opened with a sigh, and his tongue swept into her mouth, gently tasting. She kissed him back in return, leaning into him until she had one hand braced against his hard chest.

A needy moan escaped her, and he responded in kind. When he lifted his mouth from hers, she almost tipped into him, her knees not holding her upright anymore and her head spinning. Wow.

She took not one, but several long breaths to clear her head, looking down at a black and tan face staring up at her with soulful, dark eyes. Souze wasn’t shy about watching, apparently.

The thought brought her the rest of the way to her senses, because weird. Yeah. Weird.

She took a step back, and Alex let her. He’d done that since the beginning. Letting her go if she wanted. So why was it so hard to leave now even if she kept saying she should?

“Thank you,” she told him, not looking up into his eyes.

“But?” Alex’s voice came cool, deep, and so sexy it just wasn’t fair.

“But I should go. Especially because this is obviously not a professional thing now.”

“No. But none of your previous employers particularly cared if you left, did they?” He sounded reasonable. “Did they bother to try to check on you?”

“Not that I know of.” She said it slowly. She’d had her phone with her, and she’d been checking her e-mail. Both big mistakes, she knew now. But she’d been paid under the table and they didn’t really have a way to contact her after she disappeared.

“I think that’s a little odd.” Rojas lifted his hand, giving her plenty of time to avoid him, and brushed her hair back from her face. “Maybe this time, it wouldn’t hurt to have someone care about whether you disappear.”

Also in this series:

Piper J. Drake (or “PJ”) began her writing career as “PJ Schnyder” writing sci-fi & paranormal romance and steampunk. She has recently received the FF&P PRISM award for her work as well as the NJRW Golden Leaf award and Parsec award.
Now, PJ is exploring the complexity of romantic suspense, incorporating her interests in mixed martial arts and the military into her writing.
Connect with Piper at: 
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Google + | GoodReads| Youtube

a Rafflecopter giveaway